Shadowclan Main Page The Shadowclan Dark Moot

 
 CalendarCalendar   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   CharactersCharacters   GroupsGroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Calendar 
Calendar eventCalendar
Wed 14 Nov 2018
Thu 15 Nov 2018
Fri 16 Nov 2018
Sat 17 Nov 2018
Sun 18 Nov 2018
Mon 19 Nov 2018
Thinking of buying a new computer
Goto page Previous  1, 2
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Shadowclan Dark Moot Forum Index -> Computers etc.
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Kul'Gur



Joined: 20 Aug 2002
Posts: 1342
Character Skills: Fizt Shakun, Cane Whappin

PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2012 10:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also, if heat is the problem on your GPU, there are replacement fans and heat sinks available for GPU's. Could just need a nice fresh coat of arctic silver...

_________________
*burp!* Woohah!

Kulgur - Ghaash'Blud Sharkuu Nob
Kul'Gur - Bitur Wa'lusk-r
Steam Username - aclayttu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address
Baggi



Joined: 31 Jul 2002
Posts: 10886

PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2012 12:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What do you all think of www.techbargains.com?

Is that as good as the cyberpowerpc site? Or worse?


_________________
Capital City in Travian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Baggi



Joined: 31 Jul 2002
Posts: 10886

PostPosted: Wed Dec 12, 2012 9:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In the computer set ups posted here, are there gizmo's in the front of the computer where I can jack in my phone, or my camera, or slip in one of those memory cards, etc?

Pretty important to have gizmos!


_________________
Capital City in Travian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Baggi



Joined: 31 Jul 2002
Posts: 10886

PostPosted: Wed Dec 12, 2012 9:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here's a configuration I put together. Didn't realize these things don't even come with operating systems.

So this is basically a $2,000.00 machine with everything, keyboard, windows 7, etc.

http://www.cyberpowerpc.com/saved/1EPK78

What do you all think? Any changes I can make, should make, or tweaks?

I basically took what KDah had posted and modified it. Not sure if I can tweak some here or there to save money. Or if I'm missing some stuff that I need to toss in there to make it the perfect machine.


_________________
Capital City in Travian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gorgok



Joined: 20 Aug 2002
Posts: 4193
Character Skills: ----- Gorgok: Sneeki Wompr, Gurguk: Sneeki Kiggr, Ojomrog: Teefn Mojo, Budrog: Drumdum

PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2012 1:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Overall it looks like its decent enough. Kinda expensive, but it does have more stuff than what i had on my build. I didn't get any peripherals, video or sound card, and my mobo was tiny compared to that huge thing.

One thing i would change is on the ram you have 4gb x 8 slots, for 32gb total. I would get the 8gb x 4 slots option just below for $1 more. Basically it will let you add even more ram without having to toss out some you paid for previously if for some reason you do need more than 32gb ever....


_________________
-Gorgok
Gor am evil. Reeli evil.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WaChup



Joined: 21 Aug 2002
Posts: 587

PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2012 2:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

32Gig Ram? You not need that for a gaming machine.
The 8G memory modules have probably a bad timing, which means less performance.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ganthar



Joined: 11 Jul 2005
Posts: 1881

PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2012 5:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

As others have suggested you really do want a solid state driver around 240 GB and a second larger hard drive around 1TB to hold your data.
Getting a SSD was one of the best decisions I've made. I'm really happy with it. You don't notice it as much when actually gaming. Where you notice it is things like applying a patch to a game once its downloaded. Starting your PC. In games if you zone a lot it will help with that as well.


_________________
Khasha'an wrote:
Kuuk'agh wrote:
Meat is murder. If you take life from another creature you are a murderer.
Meat is murder.


Tasty, tasty murder. Mmmmmm, I love it. In fact, I'm going to eat some beef right now. HOOWAH!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Baggi



Joined: 31 Jul 2002
Posts: 10886

PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2012 4:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As silly as this sounds, would anyone mind making these minor adjustments so I can see what it looks like?

I believe KDah had the 2T drive already there, so I didn't bother changing that, but it seems like it's better to go with 2 drives?

Anyway, I'd like to see what this rig looks like with these minor changes.


_________________
Capital City in Travian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Baggi



Joined: 31 Jul 2002
Posts: 10886

PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2012 6:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think I've got it right this time.

http://www.cyberpowerpc.com/saved/1EPM72

I added the drive and I added the memory (Or changed it anyway).

Although, I'm not sure if I did it right.

I mean, I had a 2t hard disk, I took that away and added a 1t hard disk, plus the SSD that Ganthar was talking about.

But when I went from 2t to 1t, I didn't save any money. Is the 1t just that much better of a drive?

I expect to use this machine for the next 5 to 10 years, and my current machine has lot's of lag issues. So I'm hoping to get away from any of that, especially if I multi task. Right now, if we watch HULU on the tv (Second monitor) my wife can't check her facebook or it gets locked up and laggy.

I'd like to be able to watch HULU and allow us to use the computer simultaneously.

Some features I am used to.

1) My modem sits next to my current computer and plugs directly into the motherboard. I assume the one I'm buying will do the same thing?

2) I have a front panel on my current computer that allows me to plug in 2 USB ports and it has a bunch of other junk as well, for headphones, speakers, slots for memory cards, etc. Will this new computer have that as well?

Can't think of anything else at the moment. Looks like I'm almost ready to purchase.


_________________
Capital City in Travian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ig'Lug'Nu



Joined: 23 Aug 2002
Posts: 1169

PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2012 6:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Who needs 32 GB of RAM? I have 16 and that's already complete overkill.

Also it looks like your only storage is a 240 GB SSD. You should pick up a second HDD of decent size.


_________________
-Ig'Lug'Nu, Sharkuu Howling Skulls Nob.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
Ganthar



Joined: 11 Jul 2005
Posts: 1881

PostPosted: Fri Dec 14, 2012 5:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

1TB isn't better than a 2 TB. It's just that most of the time you save money doing a 1 TB and most people don't need more than 1 TB.

Are you not saving money because you added the SSD or is there just no price difference between 1TB and 2 TB? If there is no price difference I would stick with the 2 TB HD.

The only reason to use two drives over one is because SSD's are expensive so you buy a very large cheap Hard Drive to store all of your data on and then what ever game you're currently playing you keep on your SSD. Then when you aren't really playing it but don't want to uninstall it yet you move it to your HD. You'd also keep all your songs and movies and stuff on the HD.


_________________
Khasha'an wrote:
Kuuk'agh wrote:
Meat is murder. If you take life from another creature you are a murderer.
Meat is murder.


Tasty, tasty murder. Mmmmmm, I love it. In fact, I'm going to eat some beef right now. HOOWAH!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Baggi



Joined: 31 Jul 2002
Posts: 10886

PostPosted: Fri Dec 14, 2012 4:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There are two drives for the exact same price.

One is a 2t drive and it says

2TB (2TBx1) SATA-III 6.0Gb/s 64MB Cache 7200RPM HDD

The other is right above it, but is 1T

1TB Western Digital Caviar Black SATA-III 6.0Gb/s 7200 RPM HDD

I switched to the Western Digital, then added the SSD, but I guess when I clicked the SSD, it took away the Western Digital?

Not sure how to choose by a regular drive and an SSD.


_________________
Capital City in Travian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Baggi



Joined: 31 Jul 2002
Posts: 10886

PostPosted: Fri Dec 14, 2012 4:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I guess in the next section where it says, "Data Hard Drive" I can add an SSD?

That adds several hundred dollars.

Not sure if it's worth it.


_________________
Capital City in Travian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Girmluhk



Joined: 21 Aug 2002
Posts: 6393
Character Skills: Loud Mouth, Goofball, Cooking

PostPosted: Fri Dec 14, 2012 5:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Your first drive should be the SSD, and then a regular SATA drive for holding data files.

_________________
Leafcutter Family - Battlemaster
Slobb'r- Angel Island (retired)
Girm'luhk, Lister, Ooj'k, Abigail Graves - Siege Perilous (retired)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Shadowclan Dark Moot Forum Index -> Computers etc. All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group